A Tale of Two Kurts

So an interesting bit of confluence happened to me recently. I actually got to watch some television.

Various life circumstances gave me some time to park my ass in front of the small screen this weekend. I was finally able to watch the end of episode two of MONARCH which introduces Kurt Russel as the older Lee Shaw (Russel’s son, Wyatt, plays Lee Shaw as a younger man). It was a brief appearance and I anticipate I will see more of him in the next episode whenever I manage to get more time to sit down and watch it.

And it’s always good to see Kurt Russell in anything. He’s been one of my favorite actors since I was a teenager watching him in various Disney TV films.

Later in the evening, though, my wife and I had a second chance to watch some more television. We weren’t quite as particular, it being late at night. We caught the last half of an episode of The Night Stalker, after which the channel we were watching showed an old episode of Lost In Space.

And who should the guest star in that episode be? Why it was Kurt Russell, all of 14 years old, playing Quano, the son of the Ruler (played by Michael Ansara).

It was certainly not Russell’s first acting role (and hopefully his turn in Monarch will not be Russel’s last), but it was most interesting watching an actor that I grew up playing a role at age14 and another 58 years later at age 72.

I’ve been a fan of Russell from Escape From New York to The Thing, Big Trouble in Little China, Tombstone and more, so it was quite the treat to see him in two TV shows separated by so much time.

Leave a comment