We’re almost there

solstice

Time is an illusion. The delineation of years by numbers… 2016, 2017… is an artifact of a calendar constructed by an emperor 2,061 years ago.

What is not so ephemeral is the certainty of the Winter Solstice. That is the day marking the shortest day and the longest night of the year. This year that falls on December 21, which is tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the darkest day of 2016. After that, the light comes back. Having reached the furthest limits of its orbit, the Earth continues its journey around the sun, swinging closer and bringing back the longer daylight.

In other words, after tomorrow things will get brighter. In an astronomical sense, anyway.

Personally I am going to be a lot busier. Preparations for Christmas have to be made and this week at my day job is one of the busiest of the year. My daughter comes home and brings the real feeling of Christmas with her.

Also this week has seen a marked increase in snowfall which means I spend a lot of my time outside with a shovel. That is not natural for me. Being in the cold and exerting myself are not my favorite activities. Sitting in a comfy chair, being warm and well fed is more my style. So, blogging becomes a luxury from here on in.

Tomorrow the gloom is at its most gloomy. After that we can look at each other and say; `Well done! We made it!“ then gorge ourselves until we collapse. That is the way of things in the North.

So, if you survive the gloom, if you are around to read these words when the light begins to come back… well done. You made it. I hope whatever celebration of that you choose is pleasant and full of joy.

Take care, my friends.

Leave a Reply

