STAR WARS: The Force Awakens

tfa_poster_wide_header_adb92fa0

Taking a break from reviewing Netflix movies because I FINALLY got in to see STAR WARS: The Force Awakens

So… STAR WARS… yeah, well, I liked it.

It certainly got a better shake from JJ than Star Trek did. You can`t watch it and scowl and say: “That`s not Star Wars! Star Wars would never do that! That’s not what the original Star Wars was all about!”

So… in that respect… yes! Big success.

Do I sound a bit bitter? Never mind.

I love the new characters. I love Finn and Rey. Rey especially! Daisy Ridley is just so damned cute! She reminded me of the heroines from the french SF comic books I used to read and love when I was a kid. I can’t think of any specific titles. I’d have to go hunting for them, but… you know… Metal Hurlant, Pilote, those sorts of titles.

Yeah, sure a lot of the film felt like a kind of “Getting the band back together” sort of tale, having to find Han and Chewie, then Han and Leia with their utterly predictable dialogue, then finally Luke (with absolutely NO dialogue! Presumably he’ll have a more substantial role in the next installment).

It hit all the right notes. It delivered. And no matter how much George Lucas complains it doesn’t matter. This is the sequel that fans clearly wanted.

And that’s pretty much all I have to say.

Except this: The last film I reviewed on this blog was EX MACHINA. When I selected it to watch I had not idea… NO IDEA… that Oscar Isaac and Domhnall Gleeson were BOTH in The Force Awakens. I have been avoiding spoilers like crazy and paying no attention whatsoever to stories about the movie that it completely escaped my notice. So when I randomly decided to watch EX MACHINA it was a complete fluke that the two male leads also happened to be in this film.

Anyway, that just felt kind of trippy to me.

I know a lot of people are going to see Star Wars over and over again, and I probably will go see it at least once more before it leaves theaters, but for now I will get back to reviewing SF movies on Netflix. Maybe tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

